Books I Need To Read In 2018


Hello readers!

My TBR is around 300 books long, seriously. I have a serious book buying problem. I have no space in my bedroom to even place these books which means there are just multiple stacks of them around my room. It’s like a game of don’t-knocking-down-the-books when I try to move around, but it’s just the way I like it.

Considering my TBR is absolutely humongous, I think its safe to assume that these aren’t all the books I’d like to get too – there are hundreds more, but these are the first ones that pop to mind.

1. All The Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

Image result for all the light we cannot see

I bought this book ages ago, and it’s just been collecting dust on my bookshelves. I haven’t heard any negative comments in relation to this book so I have no idea why I haven’t read it yet. Meeting up with my best friends for dinner last night, one had told me she’s read it and rated it high, which has made me want to read it even more as I trust her judgement.

2. The Final Empire – Brandon Sanderson

Image result for the final empire

I now own two books by Sanderson: The Final Empire and The Way of Kings. I read half of The Final Empire two years ago and just randomly stopped reading it? I have no idea why and I remember loving it. I am really excited to pick this one back up again and read it to the end.

3. A Discovery of Witches – Deborah Harkness

Image result for a discovery of witches

I am 90% sure I haven’t read a book solely based on witches ever before? I picked up a copy of the book a couple of years ago after seeing a couple of my favourite booktubers rating it really high but I still haven’t touched it. It’s a large book and it does intimidate me, honestly, and that might be why I haven’t read it yet.

4. The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas

Image result for the hate u give

I know, I still haven’t read this book. It’s so highly rated I am just so scared it won’t live up to the hype for me – since reading and not enjoying Six of Crows it’s turned into a bit of a fear for me. Knowing what this book is about, however, and knowing the importance of the message it’s relaying, it remains high on my TBR.

5. Illuminae and Gemina – Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Image result for illuminae and gemina

I rarely read sci-fi novels, which is the most likely reason as of why I haven’t read this really hyped up book yet. The format really intimidates me, and I am worried I won’t understand what is happening etc. However, I do hope to overcome my worries and read them this year.

6. The Young Elites trilogy – Marie Lu

Image result for the young elites trilogy

Last year I brought the box set of this trilogy, not knowing at all what it’s about just knowing that they’re hyped up. Since buying them, I have heard even more good things about these books which makes me really excited to read them.

7. Caraval – Stephanie Garber

Image result for caraval

I have heard a lot of people claim that I will like this book based on the fact I really enjoyed The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern… and that is the main reason I got myself a copy of Caraval. I love the setting of a circus, and I love magic.

8. Anne of Green Gables – L. M. Montgomery

Image result for anne of green gables

This is a classic that I have been dying to read for a while now. I own two copies of it and don’t really have an excuse as of why I haven’t read it yet.

9. The Hobbit and Lord of The Rings – J. R. R. Tolkien

Image result for the hobbit book

GASP. I KNOW RIGHT?! I love the films and I really want to be able to say I love the books, too.

10. The Bronze Horseman – Paullina Simmons

Image result for the bronze horseman

I read half of this book a couple of years ago but put it down because of no apparent reason. I liked what I cant remember which is why I’d like to finish it.

11. The Bone Season – Samantha Shannon

Image result for the bone season

I now own the hardback copy of this book and it is gorgeous! It has always intimidated me which is why I haven’t read it, yet.

12. Prisoner of Night and Fog – Ann Blankman

Image result for prisoner of night and fog

Anyone who knows me personally knows that history is my favourite subject. I loved it at school and I miss it so much. I want to read more historical fiction novels in the year of 2018.

13. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

Image result for the book thief

This is the book I am most ashamed of, I think. Who hasn’t read The Book Thief?

There you have it – just 13 (of hundreds) books I’d like to read in 2018. Thank you for reading – what is your most anticipated read of 2018?

Demi / Firstpagewonders xxxx

    (no pictures used in this post belong to me.)

    8 thoughts on “Books I Need To Read In 2018”

    1. Omg most of the books you listed are also part of my list like Caraval, The Young Elites, Discovery of Witches, and Illuminae! But I really suggest you read The Bronze Horseman! It’s one of my most favorites!

      Like

    Leave a comment